Forums » Group W Forums » The Blunder Board

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:13 pm

Senior ArloNetizen

I have been playing guitar on and off for the last 25 years or so and have owned quite a few different breeds in that time. I am not a performer, just love to be able to jam with the family and friends once in a while. Lately I noticed how when I get together with everyone, people always have something to say about my Gibson Epiphone. They love the sound, the feel, etc.. It was my first guitar that I actually owned, and I bought it I think in 1986. It really is not anything special but out of all the guitars I have ever owned, it was my favorite. Every song I play on it feels right to me. It was there in high school when I "needed it", it tagged along with me through college and many a road trip, not to mention countless jams with friends. The only story I can remember about it off the top of my head is how a friend asked me to play backup for him at the popular night club at the time.. I had never performed before and I was so nervous I was basically was frozen with stage fright. However, the guitar played perfectly.. I say that because I was so nervous I wasn't even thinking, and everything I played came out perfect so it must have been the guitar playing itself. :)

Here is a pic of it:

Attachment:
File comment: Gibson Epiphone
epilite.jpg
epilite.jpg [ 77.59 KiB | Viewed 14581 times ]

So I ask: what is your favorite instrument and why? Any good stories about it?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:36 am

Arlo Fanatic

I bought a Martin D 19 in 1977, it's been my main guitar since that time. That's an absinthe label (bottom left) over a hole I knocked in it about twenty years ago.

Attachments:
Martin cut.jpg
Martin cut.jpg [ 13.19 KiB | Viewed 14572 times ]
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:18 am

Arlo Fanatic